Hall of Fame

Water Polo Australia may consider up to three new Hall of Fame inductees every two years to recognise individuals who have made an exceptional contribution over an extended period of time to water polo as a player, administrator, coach, referee or in another capacity.

Individuals inducted into the Water Polo Australia Hall of Fame must meet a strict selection criteria.

Hall of Fame profiles are taken from 'WATER WARRIORS: Chronicles of Australian Water Polo (2009) by Dr Tracy Rockwell (Pegasus Publishing). Copies of WATER WARRIORS are available for $59 from Dr Tracy Rockwell at tracyrockwell@iinet.net.au

Hall of Fame Inductees


  • John Fox
  • Nathan Thomas
  • Thomas Whalan


  • The Late Colin French
  • Amanda Leeson-Smith
  • Ian Trent



Bronwyn Smith (nee Mayer)

Gavin Woods

István Görgényi

Bronwyn was destined for a career on the international stage. She was crowned junior national champion in 1992 and made her international debut the same year as part of Australia’s bronze medal winning team at the Canada Cup. Smith was 13 years on the national team earning 222 caps with her greatest achievement coming at the Sydney Olympics in which women’s water polo made its Olympic debut. As a driver, her offensive abilities were pivotal to Australia’s success and she scored in both Australia’s 7-6 semi-final win over Russia and 4-3 defeat of the United States in the final.  Gavin is part of a select group of Australian water polo players who have competed at four Olympic Games (Sydney 2000, Athens 2004, Beijing 2008, London 2012). A world class centre forward, he played an important role in Australia’s bronze medal winning teams at the FINA World League Finals in Berlin (2007) and Genoa (2008). He played 345 international games for Australia and was captain for eight of these. After a stellar playing career that saw him win an Olympic silver medal with the Hungarian men’s water polo team (1972 Munich), István Görgényi turned his hand to coaching. After several roles with overseas Clubs, he located to Australia. In 1994 Gorgenyi was appointed head coach of the Victorian Intensive Training Centre. In 1996 he was made AWPI national development coach and coach of the national junior team. Gorgenyi was appointed coach of the Australian women’s water polo team in 1998 becoming the inaugural AIS women’s water polo coach. He went on to guide the team to a historic victory at the Sydney 2000 Olympics.



  • Ron Wootton OAM (deceased)
  • Naomi McCarthy OAM
  • Michael Turner










Water Polo Australia Life Members

  • Mr Peter Montgomery AM (1993)

  • Mr Tom Hoad AM (2009)

  • Mrs Pat Jones (2009)

  • Mr Harry Quittner (2009) (deceased)

  • Mr David Woods (2009) (deceased)

  • Peter Kerr AM (2015)

  • Mr John Whitehouse (2020)

  • Ms Leanne Barnes OAM (2021)

  • Mr David Neesham OAM (2021)

  • William R 'Bill' Jones (2022)

  • Thomas Whalan (2023)

The Harry Quittner Medal for Meritorious Service to Water Polo Australia

  • 2023 - Doc Wulf
  • 2014 – Peter Kerr AM
  • 2010 – Jeanette Gunn

  • 2009 – Leanne Barnes

  • 2008 – Tracy Rockwell

  • 2007 – Nathan Thomas

  • 2000 – John Fox

  • 1996 – Don Cameron

  • 1995 – Pat Jones

  • 1994 – Ray Mayers

  • 1992 – Chris Wybrow & Debbie Watson OAM

  • 1991 – John Whitehouse OAM

  • 1990 – Andrew Kerr OAM

  • 1989 – Tom Hoad AM

  • 1988 – Peter Montgomery AM

  • 1987 – Debbie Cummins

  • 1986 – Charles Turner